DWI, also known as driving while intoxicated, can affect you for a lifetime. A Texas DWI conviction carries severe penalties, including probation, jail time, and the loss of driving privileges. Furthermore, you’ll have a record for life.

While DWIs resulting in convictions cannot be removed from your criminal record, it is possible in other circumstances. A knowledgeable Fort Worth DWI Lawyer will protect your rights and answer your questions about DWI expungement in Texas.

DWI Convictions in Texas

As mentioned above, DWI convictions can’t be expunged. However, if charges don’t lead to a conviction, they can be removed under limited circumstances. Charges ineligible for expungement may be sealable under the state’s Second Chance Law.

Despite the possibility of record expungement, DWI charges can be held against you later. Professional licensing entities, for instance, will review your criminal background upon license application or renewal. Furthermore, DWI convictions can be used as enhancers in subsequent cases.

Getting a DWI Expunged

State law allows those charged with DWI to petition to have their charges expunged when:

· They are acquitted.

· The case is dismissed without probation requirements.

· A “no bill” is issued by a grand jury, which means they didn’t find probable cause to believe a crime occurred.

If your DWI case ends in any of these scenarios, there’s no required waiting period for an expungement. Your defense attorney will file a motion on your behalf and the entry will be removed from public records.

Orders of Non-Disclosure

State law allows Texans receiving and completing deferred adjudications programs on first DWIs to obtain non-disclosure orders. According to state government codes, those pleading guilty or no contest and receiving deferred adjudication are eligible.

Non-disclosure orders essentially seal your criminal record, hiding it from public view. You may have to fulfill a few court requirements—and you’ll need a lawyer’s help—but a non-disclosure order can be as effective as an expungement.

Felony DWI

Is it possible for Texans to get felony DWIs expunged? Those facing serious charges and repeat offenses may ask such questions. While the court may expunge your charges if you’re acquitted, you won’t be able to get a non-disclosure order if you are convicted of felony DWI.

How Much Does Filing Cost and How Long Does It Take?

The cost of a DWI expungement filing varies depending on the case’s circumstances and the jurisdiction in which the request is filed. You’ll pay:

· Filing fees of $50 to $250.

· For process service.

· For fingerprinting and a background check.

· A fee for a copy of the expungement order.

The timeframe for a DWI to drop off your Texas record depends on whether you want it expunged or sealed. A local defense lawyer will answer your questions, address your concerns, and use their knowledge of state law to work toward a resolution. Learn more about the firm’s DWI expungement services by filling out our online form or calling to schedule a no-obligation consultation with an attorney.

An Experienced DWI Attorney Has the Answers You’re Looking For

Our firm’s dedicated team has litigated hundreds of DWI cases over the years, and we have the legal experience to give clients the best possible chance of beating their charges or having eligible offenses removed from their records. Contact the firm online or call to talk to a local DWI defense lawyer.