Land of Yangalele

I received a copy of this CD in exchange for my honest review.

I don’t know that I have heard traditional Congolese music before, so it was a treat to listen to “The Land of Yangalele”.  This CD is a collection of songs inspired by Congolese music and has so many great sounds on it.

This album is composed, performed and produced by Siama Matuzungidi and Dallas Matuzungidi Johnson (drums by David Tullis).  The vocals and instrumentals on The Land of Yangalele have such a nice variety.

The tracks have a good mix, each time a song comes on, it has something different to offer.  Dallas and Siama sing in varying songs, and there is a variety of faster-paced tracks versus slower.  Overall, you get a wide range of songs to explore, with a variety that will keep your little ones occupied.  This is not one of those CD’s that becomes monotonous if left on, because each song has it’s own character.

“Yangalele” means happiness in Kikongo, and it is a great title for the album, as it is sure to leave you in a good mood.  The songs are positive and upbeat, and are very pleasant to listen along to.  As a parent, it is a win-win when I can enjoy an album along with my kids!

There are 10 great tracks on the album, which you can also check out here.

  1. Bakongo Chant
  2. Monkey Game
  3. It’s So Easy to Make a Song
  4. Sweet Water
  5. ABCD
  6. Ko Yimbi Ko
  7. Auntie’s Song
  8. When We’re Free
  9. Nalingi Bosembo (Peace Lullaby)
  10. Bakongo Chant (The Journey)

The Land of Yangalele is available March 23, 2018.

Visit Siama Music on Facebook.



“The Land of Yangalele” CD

US Only

a Rafflecopter giveaway